Project Description


The Grassington & District Horticultural Society was founded more than 40 years ago and has a thriving membership approaching 100.

It is an ‘open’ society in that any person may become a member and attend the programmed meetings throughout the year as well as the AGM in January.

The Society is also affiliated to the Royal Horticultural Society which offers many benefits including;

  • Gardening Advice
  • One free annual visit to a RHS garden
  • Magazines
  • Medal awarded at a show


It is run by a committee of volunteers (currently 12 ) and they are;

  • Chairman; Philip Johnson ( email: )
  • Deputy Chairman; Michael Cunningham
  • Secretary; Andrea Howard
  • Treasurer; Jane Ringrose
  • Speakers Secretary; Karen Darwin (Angela Beetham)
  • Show Secretary; Angela Beetham

Committee Members; Andy Booth, Judy Booth, Viv Tywang, Heather Williams, Peter Wright, Margaret Pritchard.


The Society meets six times a year (October to April inclusive) for talks from external speakers on broadly related horticultural topics. At these evenings there is often the opportunity to purchase plants/seeds from the speakers.

The meetings are held on the first Thursday of every month in the Octagon Theatre at the Town Hall, Grassington, the first being in October and the last the following April. Refreshments are served after the meetings.

The Society hold two shows a year, at the Town Hall:  The Spring Show is usually held on the second Saturday in April, and the Autumn Show which is held on the third Saturday in August.   The shows are open to all members and residents of Grassington and District. There is no fee for entering a class and no prior booking of exhibits is required.

For more information about the society click here


Results of Grassington & District Horticultural Society Annual show.

Mike Cunningham was awarded the Grassington Challenge cup and RHS medal for the most points in show.

Philip Johnson achieved the most points in vegetables and exhibited the best vegetable.

Glenda Preistnall obtained the most points in the flower classes and had the best rose exhibit.

Rosie Jowett exhibited the best flower arrangement and achieved the most points in the flower arranging classes.

Other Trophy Winners:

Master Gardener – Heather Williams

Chairmans Challenge – Cathy Taylor

Best Fuchsia – Mike Cunningham

Best single flower – Mike Cunningham

2019 Summer Show Results

Trophy Winners:
Left to Right:  Cathy Taylor, Rosie Jowett, Heather Williams, Glenda Priestnall, Philip Johnson, Mike Cunningham.



The membership year runs from 1st December to the 30th November

The membership fee is currently £6.00 per annum and allows members to have free refreshments (coffee/tea and biscuits) at each of the seven meetings each gardening year. Visitors are also welcome at these meetings for a small fee, currently £1.50.

Members also enjoy a 10% discount of the cost of perennials, shrubs, climbers etc from All Plants North, of Cracoe (conditions apply)

New members are also welcome and those wishing to join should contact the treasurer, Jane, on 01756 753557